FANTASY BOOK: ALCHEMY

maxresdefault

Sorcery has always been a defining aspect of fantasy. It has been shown to perform magnificent deeds such as turning lead into gold. I had a fascinating idea for my fantasy book that involves a similar feat. What if there was a method to turn any metal or rock into a ore that could be stronger, lighter, and more durable than any other metal? Such a metal would probably be as valuable as gold if it could produce high quality armor and weapons. I will explore this further as my writing progresses.

12 thoughts on “FANTASY BOOK: ALCHEMY”

  1. Full Metal Alchemist is what really introduced me to alchemy. Even though I’ve never used it explicitly in any of my works so far I used the concept as a framework for other abilities. I’m interested to see how you would use it.

  2. This totally got me curious due to one of my characters being an alchemist as well. I’m researching actual herbs to give it a hint of realism. Interested how you use it in yours, too.

    1. I’ve been writing for about six years. What i actually ended up doing was fusing the alchemy concept with runes. It ended up being a pretty powerful magic but not many master it because of its scale.
      How would you integrate herbs in the mix?

      1. Well, I’m going back and doing this prelude novel (book IV No’va), where my alchemist is younger and basically just starting his career. I’ve gotten a bit of backstory in where he’s had opportunities as a culinary alchemist for spices, ladies perfumes, and other things in which he totally hates. So now that he’s free of council control, he has to do things and learn for himself. The intention is to get him into potion mixing for magic-users as well as developing and manipulating medicines for his doctor friend.

      2. That’s pretty cool, never really thought about culinary alchemy before. I guess he would be able to make any restaurant a big hit.

    2. I have been writing for as long as I can remember. Ever since I was a child I always had stories to tell. My parents would supply me with whole truckloads of yellow tablets with which I drew stories in pictures. When I was in sixth grade, I started telling stories with words and started by career as an author in high school. I have been a professional author for over a decade now.

Leave a Reply

