NEW SUPERHERO SERIES

I have watched a History Channel documentary called Superheroes Decoded and it has given me a whole new perspective on the superhero genre. From the 1930s to the present, superheroes have symbolized America’s core values. However, as America changed over the years so did superheroes. Superheroes emerged as propaganda tools during World War II to symbols of feminism or the civil rights movement. I am thinking of writing a new superhero series that will reflect the times and conditions we live in now. I have been monitoring the news and I have seen police brutality, racism, terrorism, political corruption, homophobia, xenophobia, and many other dark aspects that define the cruel reality we all live in. Like the superheroes in that documentary, my new superhero series will symbolize everything I have seen. It will be a dystopian world where all of the negative social aspects I mentioned before reign supreme. This will allow me to create darker and more morally ambiguous superheroes to the point of making them anti-heroes.

Leave a Reply

