FILM REVIEW: POWER RANGERS (2017)

Power_Rangers_(2017_Official_Theatrical_Poster)

I watched the new Power Rangers film and it was an enjoyable visit to my childhood. When I was a kid I used to watch their show all the time. My favorite Ranger was the Red Ranger because red is my favorite color and his Zord was a Tyrannosaurus Rex, which is my favorite dinosaur. As for the movie itself, they made a few changes to the Blue and Yellow Rangers by making one autistic and the other a lesbian. I thought this was a great idea because it made the Rangers more relatable to a new generation of Rangers fans. I myself felt an instant connection with the autistic Blue Ranger because I have autism. The Rangers themselves were great and I loved the designs of their suits and Zords. They started out as a ragtag band of teenage misfits, but they band together when the world needed them most like true superheroes. In a mid-credits scene, you get a clear hint at the coming of the Green Ranger, who was my second favorite Ranger because his Zord was a dragon, which is my favorite mythical beast. Overall, if you are a Power Rangers fan and wish to visit your childhood as well as experience this brilliant reimagining of the franchise then this is the film for you.

Leave a Reply

