MY THOUGHTS (PART 11)

As I mentioned in my previous post, my autism and aspergers has a unique effect on how I process my emotions. Just as my autism itself is part of a spectrum, my emotions are organized in my the same way. One one end I can feel any emotion to the extreme while on the other side I feel nothing at all. During those episodes of emotionlessness, I am able to focus more on whatever tasks I am given. An example of this is when I am at work and I shelve and reorganize books. While doing this, nothing else occupies my mind not even my usual daydreams. This gives me a mindset that is similar to that of a machine. On the other hand, when I feel emotions to their limit my mind is almost on the verge of erupting like a volcano. An example of this is whenever I spend time with my beloved pit bulls. While in their presence, I feel the same kind of affection that a parent would have towards their child. Overall, this is just one example of how complex my autism has made me over the years.

Leave a Reply

