APATHY

There have been many cases in fiction in which superhumans are empowered by a certain emotion whether if it is rage, love, fear, or whatever. However, for some time I have wondered what kind of superhuman would be empowered by the absence of emotion. From time to time, I occasionally notice a temporary sense of apathy in my mind and during these occasions I realize that I am able to perform tasks with more efficiency. This is due to how my autism processes my emotions because sometimes I am able to feel everything and other times I feel nothing at all. Eventually, this gave me an idea for a character in one of my future books. With no emotions to cloud their judgment, I can imagine a superhuman thinking and fighting with greater precision. I cannot wait to experiment with this idea in the future.

2 thoughts on “APATHY”

  1. I think I know what you mean. I frequently have periods where I feel totally devoid of emotion and if I want to appear “normal” I have to choose an emotion to project. In my case I’m not sure if it’s a feature of my autism or a feature of my chronic migraine.

Leave a Reply

