GIANTS

robert_wadlow

Like dragons, giants have been featured in many fantasy stories such as Jack and the Beanstalk. I am thinking of including giants in my fantasy book. However, even though the classical giant is about twenty feet tall or higher, I am thinking of keeping my giants between seven to nine feet tall. The reason for this is because I do not intend to make my giants creatures like in classical fiction. I am planning of making them humans who are naturally born tall, but without the health problems that usually accompany gigantism. Their immense size and strength would make them formidable warriors on the battlefield or strong farmers or blacksmiths. I am thinking of applying this to other mythical beings in my fantasy books such as gnomes, nymphs, ogres, and so forth. Genetically, these individuals would be human, but they would each be born with skills and abilities that average humans lack; similar to how my autism gave me a mind that operated in a unique fashion. In a fun way, this would be a way for me to combine myth and science into the story.

Leave a Reply

