MISTRESSES

francois_boucher_019_madame_de_pompadour

During my research into medieval history, I noticed a number of things that all monarchs shared. Among these features was the fact that almost every monarch who ever lived had a collection of mistresses. Easily the most famous examples of this were Henry VIII of England and Louis XIV of France. These two monarchs had an unknown number of mistresses and just as many illegitimate children. To keep my fantasy book at the same standards as real life medieval Europe, I am thinking of giving the monarchs in my story to have their own collection of mistresses. However, even though illegitimate children are considered not part of the line of succession, I am thinking of changing that in my fantasy book. I would make the illegitimate children part of the line of succession, but behind the monarch’s legitimate children. This would be similar to how illegitimate children were treated in the early Middle Ages before the Gregorian Reform.

Leave a Reply

