GAME OF THRONES DEATH: MUTINEERS

thorne_hangs

(WARNING! THE FOLLOWING DESCRIPTION MAY BE TOO GRAPHIC FOR YOUNGER READERS! PARENTAL DISCRETION ADVISED!)

In Season 6, I finally received closure for Jon Snow’s death when he avenged his own murder by executing his killers, which is something I have yet to receive from the books (if I get it at all). While I was pleased that they died for what they did to Jon Snow, I would have performed the execution differently if I was in Jon’s shoes. I would not make their deaths quick and painless like Janos Slynt. Oh no! I would give the mutineers the most violent death sentence medieval times ever produced.

Obviously I would hang them, but that would only be the beginning because I would only hang them until they were half-dead. Then I would have them drawn, quartered, castrated, and finally beheaded. Their organs would be hollowed out and burned along with their genitals while their heads and quarters would be put on display throughout Castle Black as a warning to other would-be mutineers. However, to avoid the remains turning into wights, I would keep their quarters on display for three days before burning them, but I would leave their heads on spikes along Castle Black’s battlements to serve as a permanent reminder of the price of mutiny. There would be no eulogy for their cremation or words of comfort just uncomfortable silence as the Night’s Watch digests their potential fate if they rebelled.

After watching the mutineers die slowly, painfully, and miserably, the surviving mutineers would be too scared to finish what they started. No one would dare rebel against the Night’s Watch after such a graphic spectacle.

Leave a Reply

