POEM: THE ORANGE CHICKEN

Here is a poem from my latest published work, The Writing Arsenal of a Common Man:

 

Placed before me was a box as black as night.

The contents of the box revealed itself to be a batch

of crispy chicken pieces that steamed with heavenly

fragrance. This aroma made me light-headed as

though floating in a cloud. Coating the chicken was a

sauce that gave it the appearance of crimson gold

nuggets.

 

As I sank my dripping teeth into the fried flesh,

I savored its intoxicating richness. A slight burning

sensation surged in my mouth as it processed

the chicken’s tangy spices. I can hear the chicken crunch

in my molars like dry wafers.

 

With my elegant meal completed, I sat in my chair

consumed by satisfaction. The interior of my

stomach churns happily like a cauldron of bliss.

My tongue cringed with the powerful aftertaste

like an angel’s kiss. I then contemplate the moment

when I received the black box.

One thought on “POEM: THE ORANGE CHICKEN”

Leave a Reply

