MONSTER SLAYERS

beowulfgrendel

In countless fantasy stories, there are heroes who gain fame and glory by slaying monsters. Saint George slew a dragon, Beowulf slew the monster Grendel, and Hercules slew the Nemean lion. I am thinking of having the main character in my fantasy book have a similar experience. However, the creature he will slay will not be some mythical monster. Instead, I am thinking of him slaying a large predatory animal such as a wolf, lion, bear, or any other predatory creature you can find in the real world. He will only be fifteen years old at the time.

8 thoughts on “MONSTER SLAYERS”

  1. Sounds interesting! Have you made any progress on this plan of yours since this post? I’m also thinking of writing a ‘monster slayer’ type story, but set in medieval times. You study that particular time period don’t you?

    1. I have written the scene and the exchange between monster and slayer is both brief and brutal with neither one walking away unscathed. And yes I am studying medieval history from the Norman invasion of 1066 to the Tudor Dynasty of the 16th century.

      1. I see. Well I’ll have to keep an eye out for your story then when it’s published. What time period / location have you set it in? I asked about your interest in Medieval studies because I’ve recently developed an interest in that period, since deciding to base my story in Bavaria during that time, focused on a German forester. The trouble is, finding such specific information on that topic is proving rather elusive. I’ve tried a number of potential sources but some have come back to me and told me they’re not able to help. I don’t know if you have any ideas / suggestions?

        Anyway, please keep me posted on your book, I assume this will be an ebook in the near future?

      2. The fantasy book takes place in a mythical world that consists of multiple kingdoms ruled by an emperor. They will have features from 1066 to the 16th century all mixed together. If you want research sources, check out YouTube documentaries. I have done most of my research by listening to medieval documentaries. The book is far from ready for publishing and yes it will be on Kindle ebook edition.

  2. That’s the kind of world that’d be good to see on screen as well πŸ™‚ I’m into such shows / films as Gam of Thrones and Lord of the Rings etc. Haven’t ready too many fantasy books however but I have a few on my shortlist at the moment. And thanks for the tip. Do you look out for videos from particular / reputable sources on there? I’ve seen some myself but it sometimes seems difficult to know what’s the most realible to watch and learn from.

Leave a Reply

