FILM REVIEW: THE SWORD IN THE STONE

swordinthestoneposter

Last night, I saw a film I have not seen in many years: The Sword in the Stone. It was all because of this film that I got into the Arthurian legend in the first place. Even though this was an enjoyable film and was simplified for a younger audience, there were some things that I would have changed if I was one of the writers. For instance, with the girl squirrel, I considered the possibility of Merlin using his magic to turn her into a human and that would lead to her becoming Guinevere, King Arthur’s wife and queen. Also, what if the writers added a band of servant boys that Arthur was friends with. These boys would then become Arthur’s future Knights of the Round Table. I think these changes would have connected the dots between this story and the original legend. Overall, though, this was a film that was full of nostalgic memories from my childhood.

One thought on “FILM REVIEW: THE SWORD IN THE STONE”

  1. I loved this film! And your suggestions make a lot of sense, too. It is a tale that will be told and retold for many generations to come, so hopefully a great writer will read this and take notes 🙂

Leave a Reply

