ANGLO-SAXONS

sutton_hoo_helmet_reconstructed

Another section of my ancestry I plan to explore will be the Anglo-Saxons. My Anglo-Saxon ancestors inspired epic tales such as Beowulf. They also ruled England for six hundred years from the end of Roman rule in Britain in the 5th century to when William the Conqueror sacked the country in 1066. The thing I find interesting about my Viking, Norman, and Anglo-Saxon ancestors is that they are essentially the same people because they descended from the same bloodline. In war, the Anglo-Saxons pretty much used the same battle tactics as the vikings, which included the use of the shield wall and rely mostly on infantry. With this in mind, it is possible that my direct ancestors fought on all sides of the Norman conquest of England. That would make it a family feud that pitted kinsman against kinsman. For my fantasy series, I will be drawing inspiration from the Anglo-Saxons’ culture and warfare in order to create one of the factions of the book’s kingdom.

Leave a Reply

