INSPIRATION: QUEEN ELIZABETH II

queen_elizabeth_ii_march_2015

Due to my independent history lessons, I have taken a keen interest in English royalty ranging from William the Conquerer to Henry VIII to the current monarch Queen Elizabeth II. For the main character of my fantasy series, I will be drawing inspiration from many of these monarchs and include traits from their personalities and reigns. For example, I will base the character’s quest for the throne on that of William the Conquerer and Henry VII. I will also be drawing inspiration from the Golden Age reign of Queen Elizabeth I and the number of children of Henry I. Another example is that I will base his lifespan and reign for however long Queen Elizabeth II lives and reigns. The reason for this is because she is currently the longest reigning monarch in English history due to being on the throne for over 64 years and counting. Because she is still living and ruling, I may need to wait a few years to write the ending of my fantasy series in order to depict the end of my protagonist’s life as king, which will serve as the capstone of his story. Fortunately, this will give me time to write the early years of my protagonist’s life, which will serve as the bulk of the story. Overall, I am finding English royalty to be an interesting source of inspiration for my fantasy series and molding a character into an ideal fantasy king.

One thought on “INSPIRATION: QUEEN ELIZABETH II”

  1. I too am interested in the British royalty. I’m a history teacher in the US, but my husband is from the UK. One of my favorite units to teach is English Monarchy. The kids really enjoy it too. I would love to read an historical fiction book based on the lives of the English Monarchy.

Leave a Reply

