SUGAR SCULPTURES

day-templeedited_custom-7e82cbbf2c9a7e6e8fca02048fb7ffbddca26f09-s900-c85

I recently discovered that sugar sculptures were a regular part of the aristocratic diet in medieval times, particularly during the Tudor dynasty. I don’t know if I will be able to locate a bakery with this type of pastry in my area, but if I can I will attempt to sample one of these sculptures. During the reign of Henry VIII, he had an entire dessert meal that had multiple courses ranging from jelly made from deer antler, sugar wafers, and sugar sculptures like this one. Even more amazing was the fact that this was only one of at least five different meals in one day! I think I will basing this routine in the everyday life of the king in my fantasy series.

2 thoughts on “SUGAR SCULPTURES”

Leave a Reply

