FILM REVIEW: EXCALIBUR (1981)

excalibur_movie_poster

I have watched the film Excalibur several times recently and I must say that it is one of my all-time favorite interpretations of Arthurian Legend. I like it so much that whenever I watch animated children films of Arthurian Legend, such as Quest for Camelot or The Sword in the Stone, I would imagine the battle scenes and music from Excalibur. I also like this version of Merlin because he is wise yet eccentric. This was also when I found Patrick Stewart as a serious fighter since he was smacking around other guys in armor. The battle scenes in this film were very physical with chests being cleaved with battle axes, men getting maimed by swords, and even a guy being run through with a flaming spear! Overall, if you are as much of a fan of Arthurian Legend as I am, I would highly recommend this film. “ONE LAND, ONE KING!!!”

5 thoughts on “FILM REVIEW: EXCALIBUR (1981)”

  1. Brilliant film. For me, it strikes the perfect blend between gritty medieval reality and wondrous use of magical elements. Also, it wins first prize in the “shiniest armor” category. No idea how he kept from catching a reflection of the cameras.

  2. I so wanted to like this film, but didn’t, probably because I’m more of an Early Medieval Arthur type of guy than a Malory lover. Having said that, it’s been a long time since I’ve seen it, so I must give it another shot; perhaps before I watch what Guy Ritchie has done to it!

Leave a Reply

