CHARACTER REVIEW: KYLO REN

 

KyloRenMural-Fathead-1

When I saw Star Wars: The Force Awakens on opening night, I was very interested in the character Kylo Ren. In terms of personality, Kylo Ren is very much like his grandfather Anakin Skywalker AKA Darth Vader in that he is psychologically torn and conflicted between both the light and dark sides of the Force. A lot of people say that he is a weak character, but I disagree with this argument. He has demonstrated considerable Force potential by stopping a laser blast in midair, which was something even Darth Vader could not do. Also, everyone saw how much firepower Chewbacca’s rifle had and the fact that Kylo Ren could take a shot that strong and still be able to fight is impressive. Due to his ragged appearance, lack of emotional discipline, and unstable lightsaber, I believe Kylo Ren has received only basic training both as a Jedi and as a dark side practitioner. My guess is Supreme Leader Snoke only taught Kylo Ren basic dark side techniques and was not ready to invest all of his knowledge and power in him until Kylo Ren proved his commitment to the dark side. Since Supreme Leader Snoke said he was going to complete Kylo Ren’s training, I suspect that Kylo Ren will be more refined, more powerful, and more dangerous than he was before. Also, everyone might find him irredeemable now, but let’s not forget that Darth Vader did terrible things as well and he found redemption in the end so let’s not count Kylo Ren out of redemption just yet. With this in mind, I cannot wait for Episode VIII!

14 thoughts on “CHARACTER REVIEW: KYLO REN”

  1. I couldn’t help but find him similar to Jacen Solo from EU. From what I understood with the movie, Ren chose the dark side because he wanted power but still felt conflicted, whereas Jacen became Darth Caedus not just for power but to save his wife and child like his grandmother Darth Vader.

  2. I thought he was a very interesting new character, and I’m looking forward to seeing how he develops in the next movies. I liked that they borrowed some elements from the EU for his character, even though the EU is now non-canon.

  3. Okay, two questions; why does he wear a mask. We all know that Darth Vader wore one because it kept him alive, but why this guy. Second, when he removed the mask, why doesn’t he have helmet head. His hair was perfectly feathered and flowing. I know, not serious questions, but they did pop into my mind.

    1. Maybe it was a hairmet…..a helmet designed to keep your hair perfect 😛

      OR they have super awesome hair products in the First Order.

      In regards to your first question though, my impression is that he idolises Darth Vader, and wears a mask/helmet because he did.

  4. My one issue with the character is I personally feel he shouldn’t have removed the mask until the scene on the catwalk. Removing it beforehand really dulled the impact of that moment, and seeing him as human for the first time in the film’s most grim scene would have made it all the more chilling. He gets to the point where we can relate to him most, then does the most horrific thing in the film. In spite of that minor complaint, I did like the character and am looking forward to the next film.

  5. I initially judged him as a bit of a whiny jerk (and lets face it Anakin was a bit of a whiny jerk too) then at the end I realised he was just beginning his journey to the Dark Side. Like some kid trying to prove his worth to the leader of the baddest gang in town so they’ll let him into the clubhouse.

    VIII is going to be good! 😀 … and I’m not going to watch ANY promos this time. I watched the first trailer for VII and managed to keep away from everything else after that.

  6. Great analysis of Kylo Ren’s character and I completely agree. I think that seeing him dress like Darth Vader invokes the illusion of him being exactly the same as his Grandfather so some fans were a bit surprised to see the rough edges, seeing and hearing him lament to his Grandfather’s mask about the call to the light, struggling with weakness etc. I think if you take all 6 original Star Wars movies and look at Anakin/Darth you see the same struggle with the dark/light and order/chaos. Then for Force Awakens to add the twist that if Leia and Han had a child that the child would be deeply troubled and the heroes would not be able to handle this including Luke Skywalker. I think its very brave story telling that I’m eager to see where they go with this. I remember as a teenager when I first saw Empire Strikes Back and freaked out when it was revealed that Luke’s father was Darth Vader. We had a few years to wonder if it was a trick to lure Luke to the dark side or if it was the beginning of a tragedy redemption arc of a son being asked to kill his own father and not being able to do it. In Force Awakens, Ben Solo is very aware of this part of his family history and as Kylo Ren he thinks that if he kills his father then this path to the dark side will be complete. He will not be like Luke who didn’t kill his father or like Anakin who saved his son because sentiment and love got in the way. It brings up the looming question….with the light calling to Kylo before…will he be able to cut himself off from the shame of killing his own father? So much to think about!

Leave a Reply

