THE MINDSET OF A WRITER

Due to my imagination and autism, I tend to see the world in a unique perspective. The creative side of my mind is always active even while I am at my job or school and portray my surroundings in colorful ways. Whenever I experience something positive, I tend to feel as though the world became brighter and I could imagine an individual transforming a hurricane into a gentle breeze or sunlight glittering off the surface of a lake. Whenever I experience something negative, such as when I hear about the evil ISIS is spreading, I imagine the skies darkening or the landscape being drowned in an infinitesimal torrent of blood. Often times, I ask myself philosophical questions about the world such as “Do I exist?” or “Is a utopia possible?” or “If you have superhuman powers, are you still human?” In each of these questions, I can envision countless possible answers and scenarios, which I sometimes use in my writing. When I dream, I experience scenarios that are so profoundly stupid that they can never be funny. Overall, the creative side of my mind is always at work even while I am asleep.

7 thoughts on “THE MINDSET OF A WRITER”

  1. Hi! Beautiful piece! Although I don’t have autism, I can totally relate to that, although your sensations are probably more integral to your ‘self’. I have moments of such joyous sensations followed by visualizations, but I also experience dull, grey periods, when I am hungry, or depressed, or for no reason… But when I am excited, I get creative. See, you say that even sadness leads you to creativity. This is how my husband is. He loves really depressing movies, and comes out of them recharged. I get ‘shut down’, and it’s difficult to climb out of the sadness hole. I even try avoiding sad movies, like the “Schindler’s List”. The first time I saw the musical “Rent”, I couldn’t finish it. I just left the room and sat in the corner, cried and kind of rocked in shock. A long time passed (like a year) when I finally decided to finish watching it. Anyway, sorry for the rant, I though that your post was very insightful and inspirational!

  2. I think it’s common to all of us as writers. Graham Greene described it as having a chip of ice in the heart, where we see the worst possible things and muse that there’s a story in it. Part of my mind is always with the page.

  3. Great story. I always keep a little notebook with me. When I have an idea or observe something unique, it becomes a note in my notebook and later, maybe an idea for a story, setting, or character.
    Thanks for sharing.

  4. Thank you for sharing! As I’ve only recently been diagnosed, I’m finding that it helps me to see that I’m not the only one who feels and sees the world the way that I do. I keep several notebooks, and my dream notebook can only be described as weird. My dreams are so vivid, but yes completely unrealistic. I had a dream when I was in the third grade that my entire class had been kidnapped by little blue gremlin people and they made us work in an outdoor office, but the cubicles were their size, so when we stood up we could communicate with each other telepathically when we made eye contact with one another… That is possibly the most normal of my dreams.

  5. “If you have superhuman powers, are you still human?” is a question that provokes so many thoughts and other questions in my mind.

    Our own unique perspective is what makes the world of stories and books the rich, diverse place it is. Bring your experiences to the page, and you will be rewarded by broadening the minds of some, and bringing enlightenment to others.

    Thanks for this great post!

  6. I’m pretty sure with your autism the images in your mind when there’s something positive or negative happening are there without provocation. Nevertheless, I do think most writers, even without your special gifts, are able to experience the same sort of reaction. It may have to be induced though. Either way, it make for intriguing ideas to use in writing, doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

