MY THOUGHTS (PART 4)

My autism granted me something that is both my greatest strength and greatest weakness: my imagination. From when I was a toddler to when I was in sixth grade, my imagination was powerful but uncontrollable. During those years, I would frequently create imaginary friends and have constant daydreams of their adventures. However, the fact that I could not control my imagination at the time meant it gave me difficulty separating fantasy from reality. Fortunately, at the start of sixth grade, I started to control my imagination with the help of one of my school aides. Over time, I gradually gained more and more control over my imagination. Now, my imagination is honed and refined and always used to write my stories, making it my greatest weapon. A good metaphor for my imagination would be that it started out as a wildfire (powerful yet unstable) and became as focused as a laser. Still, I often think about what it would be like if I could materialize anything I could imagine, which would make life so much easier.

5 thoughts on “MY THOUGHTS (PART 4)”

Leave a Reply

