MY THOUGHTS (PART 3)

I have noticed that one of the social impairments I suffer to this day due to my autism might possibly affect how I process my emotions. For example, my anger can sometimes be consuming because I do not like anyone to be wronged by evil people. Another example is I can become sad, particularly when it comes to animals. While most of the time, I am incapable of crying and rarely feel sad, I cannot even watch a scene where something bad happens to an animal without going through an emotional breakdown. It remains to be seen whether or not I am capable of feeling romantic love. While I do feel familial love, especially towards my parents, I do not know if I can connect in a romantic relationship. On the other hand, whenever I feel happy and free, especially when I am hanging out with my friends or having a party with family, I can barely contain myself and become a little hyper. Whether or not this has anything to do with my autism is unknown, but it is clear that I can become fixed on a particular emotion for a long time before shifting onto another one.

8 thoughts on “MY THOUGHTS (PART 3)”

  1. Being sensitive to the suffering of human beings or animals is not necessarily a sign of autism. You are a writer and you have an artistic side to you. Artists are usually more sensitive than the rest of human beings. Simply, you are a great guy!

  2. Having Autism my self I know what you mean. Emotions to us are more like a rollercoaster and when the ride breaks down that is when we ourselves break down emotionally. I find that I struggle to understand peoples emotions and also I can be happy and cheerful in a situation when I should be sad. But never let it get you down or don’t blame it on this or that. It is simply who you are and what kind of individual you are. You are unique and you are you and that’s all you can ever be. 😊😊

  3. Are you introverted or more stoic? Artistic men especially tend to have deeper, longer emotional states both good and ill. I know I can have long bouts of melancholy for days or weeks at a time.

  4. Thank you for this post on autism.
    I have been following you for some time now and did not know this about you. I found that my little brother (both smaller and younger) is autistic. He had been tagged all his life as mentally retarded by some doctor when he was born over 60 years ago. If it wasn’t for my wife recognizing his true condition I would never have known.
    I have many questions I would love to ask you about this but this does not seem the forum to do it, and it would take too much time and space. Many of his actions and mannerisms greatly puzzle me and take me by surprise, especially his outbursts of anger for no apparent reason…
    Thank you for the information.

Leave a Reply

