CONCEPT: FEAR

1422460_741506619196874_374543374_n

As Halloween approaches, I prepare my costume to scare trick-or-treaters. Their fright has made me realize that the one thing that spreads faster than any biological virus is fear. With this in mind, I am currently thinking of creating a major supervillain for my fifth volume who has fear-based powers. How can the Young Guardians fight someone that they are forced to be afraid of? I guess we will find out. Happy Halloween, everyone!

6 thoughts on “CONCEPT: FEAR”

  1. When I was a kid I used to have a reoccurring dream where I would walk down the side of my house, an old lady in a grey mac and rain hat would walk towards me and smile, she had jade green eyes, as I passed herand smiled back her yes would shine bright green and I would feel horrendous pain in my back like somebody was digging their knuckles in. I always woke up with my back arched through the pain. I have no idea why I told you this but your blog reminded me of it.

  2. Good idea. My response would be – heroism is not freedom from fear. Heroism is doing what needs to be done in spite of your fear. Perhaps it could be the weakest member of the team comes through based on that realization?

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  3. I think fear is good if you know how it works. One of the things I remember Stephen King writing on the subject is that fear is most effective as long as you can’t see/don’t understand the threat. This is why I hate any number of horror movies for very quickly SHOWING me the ghost or demon or whatever. As soon as I see it, however horrifying the makeup, it becomes a lot less terrifying. A master of fear should lurk in the shadows, never be quite seen, only barely perceived. He should work on illusions and concentrate on getting inside people’s heads. He should play on all kinds of fears. Not just the fear of dying, but also the fear of being alone, the fear of never finding or losing a mate, the fear of failing. Whatever fears a hero has, he should take advantage of them to turn that hero against the others and against himself. Scarlet Witch from the newest Avengers movie is a good example of this, with how she drove Tony Stark half crazy by playing on his fear of failure.

    However, Scarlet Witch is seen clearly, so she’s not that scary, just capable. If you want your reader to feel the fear alongside the characters then you have to use a close in view and NOT SHOW the enemy causing the fear. He has to be poorly understood, his powers and what he can actually do have to be a mystery to the reader, and some things that we think are safe and untouchable have to get hurt and hurt bad, or at least very much appear to. Once the reader knows that the villain is capable of bringing death or destruction along with his fear, then he becomes truly fearful and every moment is spent wondering what he’ll take next.

Leave a Reply

