INSPIRATION: BULL SHARKS

Sharks have always served as antagonists in several works of fiction. One of the most dangerous sharks in the world is the bull shark, which is responsible for more shark attack fatalities than any other shark (even the great white shark). When I was in Hawaii last year, my family and I participated in a kayaking adventure down a river that was connected to the ocean. Bull sharks are notorious about being able to swim in murky, brackish water (fresh and salt water) and there had been sightings of bull sharks in the area over the years. With that in mind, there was a strong possibility that there were bull sharks underneath my kayak and I did not know. I had watched the Discovery Channel’s Shark Week so I knew what these sharks were capable of and the thought of a bull shark jumping out of the water and onto my kayak gave me chills. On the upside, I had gained inspiration from the experience for a possible supervillain in my sequel trilogy, someone who is just as savage and bloodthirsty as a bull shark. I suppose one can acquire inspiration from the most unlikely events.

2 thoughts on “INSPIRATION: BULL SHARKS”

Leave a Reply

