CONCEPT: SAVING A LIFE

wpid-img_20150419_145828237.jpg

I have spent my entire writing career creating stories about superheroes performing good deeds and saving lives, but this time, I actually got to just that yesterday.  I was about to drive out of my neighborhood when I found a stray dog wandering around.  I stopped the car, caught up with the dog, and called its owner through its license.  The owner found me and I was able to return the dog.  After the deed was done, I finally got to feel the satisfaction of doing a good deed for a fellow human being and a helpless animal.  It was during this ordeal that I understood that writing about people doing good deeds for the public is one thing, but to actually do it in real life is something else entirely.  When you write such as event, you are basing what you imagine the character would feel during that situation.  However, when you perform something good in the real world, you feel and understand the emotions that occur throughout the event.

8 thoughts on “CONCEPT: SAVING A LIFE”

  1. I am a firm believer in giving back to the community and helping those less fortunate. Not only does it feel very rewarding to know that you helped someone in need, but if that person can pay it forward, then the cycle of goodwill will continue!

  2. I’m always trying to live up to the standards of my characters. Not easy, but occasionally the opportunity presents itself. It’s wonderful that you took the time to stop instead of driving by. A hero to the dog and its family.

  3. The satisfaction of possibly savings lives is the reason I bothered to write SIGNS OF A SERIAL KILLER… IF I CAN SAVE ONE LIFE THAN IT IS WORTH IT. WHEN I SAW YOUR POST I KNEW…. THAT’S WHY WE WRITE.

Leave a Reply

